Tech Staffers Taking the Lead

Chairman Will Hurd and Representative Ted Lieu of the Oversight and Government Reform’s Subcommittee on Information Technology, released the following statements on news of the recently formed bipartisan Congressional Tech Staff Association (CTSA):

“In order to protect taxpayers and move towards a more efficient federal government, Congress is desperately in need of leaders to address pressing technology issues, such as cybersecurity and improving federal IT systems. Ensuring that today’s thought leaders have a forum in which to engage their colleagues and work towards innovative solutions is a step in the right direction and one I am proud to support,” said Rep. Will Hurd, a former undercover CIA officer and cybersecurity professional.


“As one of four computer science majors serving in Congress, I believe it is critical to develop resources to understand the complex technology policy issues before us,” Congressman Lieu said. “I am proud to be one of the originating sponsors for the creation of the bipartisan Congressional Technology Staff Association and to have my office involved in its leadership.”

A bipartisan group of thirty senior tech staffers on the Hill formed CTSA. The founders leveraged their resources, contacts, and combined knowledge and formed the association’s first board of directors to govern the CTSA in its primary mission of elevating congressional staff’s technical expertise and understanding of technology policy.


CTSA brings together a growing number of professional staff who are passionate about technology issues for the purpose of policy and strategic development, growing relationships internally and externally, and collaborating to maximize efforts.

The association will focus four standing objectives:

  • Community: foster a more visible, cohesive community of tech staffers within Congress.;
  • Policy: create a forum for engagement, discussion, and education regarding technology policy and emerging issues;
  • Professional Development: drive professional development programs and educational opportunities.; and
  • Networking: form a robust professional network for staffers, stakeholders, and policymakers in and out of Congress.


CTSA will host briefings, working groups, roundtables, private gatherings, dinners, happy hours and other events to accomplish the four standing objectives.  Participants will range from Members to caucuses, staffers, and other stakeholders

Executive Staff includes Madison Smith, Andrew Lachman, Amy Murphy, Austin Carson, Burak Guvensoylar, John Costello, Sasha Moss and Jessica Levandowski.

For more information on membership and upcoming events, please click here.